Our Children's Earth

Your One Stop Shop for Eco Ideas, Crafts & Gifts.

Making the Coolest Recycled Light Switch Plate Covers Tutorial March 27, 2012

As I was sitting in my first house that I bought all by myself I was looking at the light switch plates.  They were so boring and plain   I wanted some flash and fun on them.  I decided at that time to paint them.  I  painted them in a variety of different colors and designs.  I had so  much fun making my house full of color.  When I moved into my current house I discovered the fun of making light switch plates with old books, magazines, calendars, order catalogs, recycled jewelry, stickers and more.  I could create the coolest light switch plates this way!  I have been making them for my business, friends and family ever since.

I have been getting ready for our next big Festival to go to  and noticed that I had no more light switch plates to sell.  Since I was making some I decided to make a tutorial and help you learn how to make them too.  Here we go:

Supplies that you will need to make a Light Switch Plate Cover:

1. Mod Podge and paint brush

2. Recycled Light Switch Plate from your house or the thrift store

3. Scissors and exacto Type Knife

4. Recycled magazines, books, calendars etc…

5. Ribbon, beads, recycled jewelry

6.  Always use caution when using sharp objects or messy sticky products…if you can’t do it safe then please don’t do this tutorial.  My lawyers say I am not responsible for your eye, body appendage or table trauma’s if you follow number 6 :)

            

Next step is to find the recycled magazine (book, newspaper etc) that you want to put on your light switch cover.  You will cut the magazine to the same size as the light switch plate with scissors.

Then take the Mod Podge and paint it on the front of the light switch cover.  Put the magazine on top of the Mod Podge and fit it to the Light Switch Plate.

Flip the cover over and use the exacto type  knife to cut the center of the light switch paper out.

Then poke a hole in the middle of where the screws will go in the cover.

Then flip the cover back over and put Mod Podge on the top of the magazine and make sure the screw holes are left open.

At this point you can add fun items your cover.    If you are adding more paper, stickers, flat type items then you can put a thin layer of Mod Podge on them.

If you are adding something thicker like beads, recycled jewelry etc then make sure you use a thicker coat of Mod Podge.

I like to have spots set up for them to dry and not touch the table I am working on so you don’t have to clean Mod Podge off your table later.

I then add a second coat of Mod Podge to make sure that they are all put together to stay.

Have fun making one for you home, office, as presents etc..    The great thing about this project is that you can make it match your decor perfectly and not have a boring, plain light switch cover.

If you don’t feel like making one I have a few for sale at my Etsy shop.   Come on over for a visit :)

http://www.etsy.com/listing/95242058/steampunk-light-switch-platecover

or

http://www.etsy.com/listing/95242682/bugs-cover-this-fun-light-switch-plate?ref=v1_other_1

 

One Response to “Making the Coolest Recycled Light Switch Plate Covers Tutorial”

  1. […] Making the Coolest Recycled Light Switch Plate Covers Tutorial (ourchildrensearth.wordpress.com) Share this:PrintLinkedInRedditTumblrTwitterFacebookStumbleUponEmailDiggPinterestLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Filed under Art, art work, family, happiness, Life, living life, love, Music, relationships and tagged happiness, mother and daughter, musicians, performing | Leave a comment […]


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,420 other followers