Our Children's Earth

Your One Stop Shop for Eco Ideas, Crafts & Gifts.

Creating Birthday Fun the Eco Friendly Way January 20, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Our Childrens Earth @ 5:24 PM
Tags: , , ,

I have two special occasions happening this year (well so far anyways….lol).  My Opa (Grandfather in German) turned 85 and my daughter is turning 13.

This is how it all started:  I wanted to help my Mom do something special for my Opa so we decided to do 85 cupcakes instead of a cake…yes, you read that correct 85 cupcakes!  So I decided I would make him a huge 85 to put all the cupcakes on and also as a HUGE sign for him.  I could have gone and bought one from a store or online but I wanted to make it more Eco Friendly.   So the search began…..great, big , huge box search that is.  I finally found a refrigerator box at an appliance store.  They were so nice to give it to me.

So I cut out a huge piece of cardboard on one side in between the two handle slots and drew out an enormous 8 and 5 on it.  Warning on this, please don’t point the knife or scissors at yourself or your foot and drop it on your big toe or other body part.  It would really hurt and is really just not a good idea to use a knife or scissors unless you are a skilled cutter type person.

 

I then cut the 85 out of the cardboard to take it’s beautiful shape.

 

I then painted it a dark enough color to hide my drawing lines.  Again, don’t put the paint in your eyes, mouth or other body parts that it would  not feel good or be safe to put it in.

 

and the kids added stickers to it….

 

 

He was very excited when he saw it:

 

 

Here it is covered with cupcakes:

 

 

It was so fun, they called the next day to tell me how special the 85 was for the party.  Granddaughters love to hear that kind of stuff 🙂

 

So then I decided to do one for my daughter who is turning 13.  I think hers turned out pretty cute also.  As you can see I recycled all the flowers from the cupcakes to her sign.

 

 

These are fun to make so I hope you have fun making one for your family also 🙂

 

6 Responses to “Creating Birthday Fun the Eco Friendly Way”

  1. Very Fun!! You are good at recycling. xoxoox

  2. What great ideas, Stephanie, I’ve always admired your creative energy! I have confidence that even I, who don’t consider myself a crafty person, could do this!
    Thanks so much for sharing this. Happy birthday to your Opa!
    Love, Cynthia

  3. And happy birthday to your daughter! Hope she knows how lucky she is to have a Mother like you…

  4. Thanks so much Andrea and Cynthia! You are two awesome ladies!

  5. […] Creating Birthday Fun the Eco Friendly Way (ourchildrensearth.wordpress.com) Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_bg", "ffffff"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_text", "333333"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_link", "0066cc"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_border", "cccccc"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_url", "ff4b33"); GA_googleAddAttr("LangId", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "food"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "tips"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "little-green-patchwork-mama"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "children"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "eco-friendly"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "environmentally-friendly"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "party"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "recycling"); GA_googleFillSlot("wpcom_sharethrough"); Share this:TwitterFacebookLinkedInRedditStumbleUponDiggEmailPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  6. […] Creating Birthday Fun the Eco Friendly Way (ourchildrensearth.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

