Our Children's Earth

Your One Stop Shop for Eco Ideas, Crafts & Gifts.

Are you a Tree Hugger? March 16, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Our Childrens Earth @ 10:23 PM
Tags: , , , , ,

 

So you are the kind of person that tries to be eco friendly.  You use your own bags at the grocery store, recycle and try to be a nice person. I know people joke about being a “Treehugger”  but have you actually ever done it before?   Have you ever actually gotten up close, wrapped your arms and maybe a leg too, around a tree?    I have since I was little.  I still do it to this day.  There is something amazing about feeling the energy, strength and love of a tree.  To feel their bark, branches, leaves is just incredible.  They are all different and all powerful. One of my favorite places to hug a tree is in the Redwood Forest in California.  My oh my, those trees are amazing!

I used to climb trees all the time.  I remember how sad I was when I was in college and climbed the tree in the front of the house that my friends and I had just rented.  A gangster had tagged the tree in the branches.  I guess the good thing was at least they were hugging a tree to get that high but I was so sad that someone did that do the tree.  I don’t climb in the trees nearly as much as I should anymore but it makes me happy to hear my younger children talk about their adventures of climbing a tree.  My son has a favorite in the back yard that he calls his special place.  What an amazing spot for him to be.  I hope you all have a special spot to hug a tree.

A friend had this on their facebook and I just had to share it with all of you…my tree hugging friends!

 

 

“What we are doing to the forests of the world is but a mirror reflection of what we are doing to ourselves and to one another.”
~ Gandhi

(image – tododesign, thanks to TS friend Jill!) from Tree Story:  https://www.facebook.com/pages/TreeStory

They post the most amazing tress ever and I am so grateful to have found their facebook page.  I would recommend checking them out!

 

2 Responses to “Are you a Tree Hugger?”

  1. artsings1946 Says:

    I love this picture. I found your blog via an etsy team. So happy to find others interested in saving our planet.

    Happiness to all.


Leave a Reply

