Our Children's Earth

Your One Stop Shop for Eco Ideas, Crafts & Gifts.

Making a Recycled Cinder Block Couch June 10, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Our Childrens Earth @ 5:59 PM

One of my favorite pages on facebook is called Two Women and a Hoe  (https://www.facebook.com/TWOwomenANDaHOE).  One of their great finds that I instantly fell in love with is this Cinder Block Bench:

I decided that I really wanted to make one and said so on our facebook page:  https://www.facebook.com/pages/Our-Childrens-Earth and then what happens…..a great friend says they have some they are getting rid of.  HOLD ON…..here comes the happy dance……..polka, belly dance, shopping cart, Mr. Roboto!  Now I can make it and recycle at the same time!  My awesome friends Pattie and Todd had their Cinder Block fence get knocked down by the biggest wind storm I have ever experienced.  We had trees and fences knocked down all over our city.    Here is Pattie sitting with some of her Cinder Blocks she is giving to me.  BIG HUG TO HER!!!

My friend Brooke decided she wanted to make one also in her back yard.  She is going to make a chair with some succulents in it.  Here she is loving our new treasures!

Fitting all the Cinder Blocks into my van.  Guess what happens the same day as the pick up for the blocks?  The back hatch door on my van breaks…..NO!  I can’t get the back to stay up, it keeps slamming shut….so sad!  So I have to figure out how to take the middle seats out of my van.  Here we are all loaded up in the middle of the van….girl power!

Here is the spot I decided to put the couch in the front yard.  It is a little shady but I can just imagine the kids hanging out and talking to their friends on the couch.

My friend Faith came over to help and learn so she could make her own in her back yard also.

Ok, I love to recycle but recycled Cinder Blocks takes it to an entirely new level!  Getting the cement off the blocks could be a very hard process at times.  We took a screwdriver and a hammer and got it off.  Some pieces were easy and came right off and some took a lllloooooooonnnnnnnnggggg time!  I broke a bunch in the process of doing like 34 by myself (with help from my sons, the cute little helpers that they are) and then Faith came and saved my life by doing like the last 6 for me.  BIG HUG TO HER!

So that we can keep the spiders, wasps etc.. out of the holes on the blocks I added some cool tiles to it.  I also found some old glass parts at a local antique shop called Abby’s (love that place).

Here is our upclose look at the couch.  We are going to add plants to the back and cement in the blocks to make it flatter.

We created a cool and unique looking table to go with the couch.  Come and set you drinks, play cards etc..on it.

My awesome hubby the designer of the tiles on the table….,great ideas!

The kids sitting on the couch waiting for it to dry.  What a great experience making it and adding a fun touch to the front yard.

If you want to make one of your own, here is  the spot to find the directions on the Two Women and a Hoe Facebook page to make your own: fbid=10150710682910070&set=a.254163565069.183102.216532105069&type=1&theater

They got this information from a great website:  http://borganic.net/.

 

10 Responses to “Making a Recycled Cinder Block Couch”

  1. Pattie Cook Says:

    If you live in the Ogden area and you want some cinder blocks to make a couch for yourself I still have some left! Let Stephanie know and she can give you my info. Pattie

  2. Janet Says:

    That is so awesome!! LOVE it!

  3. Oh. my. word. You are a brave brave woman! It’s totally cute though. thanks for sharing on the Upcycled Linky Party at http://love2upcycle.blogspot.com/2013/07/upcycled-linky-party-15.html

  4. Kendall Says:

    I actually seem to go along with pretty much everything that has
    been written within “Making a Recycled Cinder Block Couch
    | Our Children’s Earth”. Thanks for all the actual info.Regards,Tawanna


Leave a Reply

