Our Children's Earth

Your One Stop Shop for Eco Ideas, Crafts & Gifts.

Recycled Shipping Boxes and MORE…this one is on how to measure girth? September 12, 2012

Filed under: Tutorial — Our Childrens Earth @ 7:22 AM
Tags: , , , , ,

I have never shipped a HUGE package before.  For a friend, I recently sent her a HUGE HUGE HUGE package.  Here are some of the things that I learned…..what the heck is girth anyways?

English: A tape measure. Deutsch: Massband

English: A tape measure. Deutsch: Massband (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Let me tell you, I came across some interesting things while goggling for girth…like how measure certain body parts of men but that was definitely not what I was looking for.  What it basically means is to take a tape measure and wrap it all the way around the biggest part of the box.  That is the girth.  Then you add the longest length side of the box to the measurement of the girth to get the inches that the USPS wants.  Or here is their lingo:  length plus girth (the distance around the thickest part) of a package must meet their requirements for how many inches it can be.   If you want to mail a box from the USPS it needs to be under the correct inches or no matter how tired you look from caring the biggest box that you have ever carried in (with help from your daughter) they will tell you NO!

Good luck…..we will be back with some more ideas and helpful hints!

 

3 Responses to “Recycled Shipping Boxes and MORE…this one is on how to measure girth?”

  1. I have been exploring for a little bit for any high-quality articles or blog posts on this kind of house . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this site. Studying this info So i’m satisfied to exhibit that I have an incredibly excellent uncanny feeling I discovered just what I needed. I most no doubt will make certain to do not forget this web site and give it a look regularly.

  2. Who knew! I enjoyed reading about girth. I’ll have to be sure not to buy my sister any large christmas gifts! – She lives in France.

  3. Stephanie Says:

    I know it is tooo funny!


Leave a Reply

