Our Children's Earth

Your One Stop Shop for Eco Ideas, Crafts & Gifts.

Recycled Memories from Times of Past while Planting your Tomatoes March 31, 2013

Filed under: Interview — Our Childrens Earth @ 2:14 AM
Tags: , , , , , , ,

One of the most amazing things about having Grandparents is that they can share their old memories and we can recycle them into new ones or use them just the way they are.  I love my Grandparents and my children’s Grandparents.  They are full of ideas from a long life fully lived.  I thought I would share some of these great ideas in my blog from time to time.

English: My Grandparents Bill & Binkie Loxton ...

English: My Grandparents Bill & Binkie Loxton in the 1970’s. From our Family Photograph Collection. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Since it is Spring I thought I would share one of my Grandparents ideas.  They have been life long gardeners and have many to share with me.  One that I am going to get ready to use has to do with planting tomatoes.

Beautiful Red Tomatoes are Healthy

Beautiful Red Tomatoes are Healthy (Photo credit: epSos.de)

They swear by adding eggshells to your tomatoes before you plant them.  First you dig a hole put your crushed up egg shells in the hole then plant your tomatoes on top of them.   They say it helps them to be healthier and helps keep the bugs away.  I started looking around on the web and everywhere I looked they agreed with my Grandparents.  Here is a great site: http://voices.yahoo.com/the-best-growing-tomatoes-eggshells-for-5992370.html  with further information about what the egg shells actually do to help your plants grow.

Good luck with your tomato plants and a Happy Spring!

 

 

Leave a Reply

