Our Children's Earth

Your One Stop Shop for Eco Ideas, Crafts & Gifts.

Creating Eco Friendly Mailing Envelopes June 10, 2013

Having run my online shop for a few years now I was so excited  to figure out how to make more eco friendly envelopes.  This is a super easy, no pattern way to reuse paper bags.  I think that these envelopes turn out stronger then the average paper envelopes that clasp on the top.

All you need to start is a old paper bag, packing tape and scissors.

DSCF0025

Then you cut the bag to the size you need.   That is what makes this so great, you don’t need any patterns.   I would recommend that you cut about an inch to an inch and half around the item your shipping to allow for folding (next step).  Also consider how bulky your item is when you cut out your paper.   If your item is smaller and light (like pictured below) then it is like gift wrapping but making the wrapping bigger so that it is an envelope size.  I have also shipped clothing like this and when it is a bigger item like that I just wrap it like wrapping paper and it works wonderful.

DSCF0026

Next you fold all the edges in around the paper.  This will give your envelope a more finished look in the end.

DSCF0027

Then fold the paper bag in half over the item you are shipping making sure that all the edges meet so that it looks nice when your customer receives it.  Then tape up around the three edges and you have your new envelope.

DSCF0028

Completed envelope looking awesome and eco friendly!!

DSCF0030

Enjoy making these fun and easy recycled bag envelopes.

 

10 Responses to “Creating Eco Friendly Mailing Envelopes”

  1. Jennie Says:

    Great idea. I have a weakness for brown paper bags; this could be a great way to use them and save on my shipping costs. :]

    • I totally agree that there is something very cool about brown paper bags.

      Yes, it does help save on the cost and I think it helps our customers to know we really do want to be eco friendly when we can.

  2. Simply fabulous. Every now and again I add a bit of reused bubble wrap to mine, just in case. Thanks for linking up to the Upcycled Linky Party at http://love2upcycle.blogspot.com/2013/06/upcycled-linky-party-11.html

  3. Thank you, I have just been searching for info about this subject for ages and yours is the greatest I’ve came upon so far. However, what concerning the bottom line? Are you positive concerning the supply?|What i do not understood is in reality how you’re now not really much more well-appreciated than you might be now. You’re so intelligent.

  4. Hey all, You have performed a fantastic job. I’ll unquestionably delicious them along with our part advise in order to my buddies. We’re confident they shall be taken advantage of this blog.

  5. I was recommended this website by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my trouble. You are incredible! Thanks!


Leave a Reply

