Our Children's Earth

Your One Stop Shop for Eco Ideas, Crafts & Gifts.

Creating a Dance Floor from Recycled Pallets August 6, 2013

This is a pretty easy project to do considering how cool this dance floor turns out.  My brother made this floor for his wedding, so of course I can say that it was easy.  I was busy  in air conditioning making last weeks post of Mason Jars and he was out in the summer heat making this.  So here is my quick version on how to make this awesome project.
DSCF0482

First you need a bunch of pallets to recycle, plywood,  screws, drill or screwdriver and saw (again becareful with drills, screwdrivers, saw, wood for slivers etc…):

20130706_134544

DSCF0484

4 easy steps…here you go:

1. First lay out your pallets for the size of floor you want

2. Lay the plywood on top of the pallets

3. Cut the plywood to the size you need

4. Screw the plywood down onto the pallets

20130706_144152DSCF0483

20130706_190339

20130706_190347

 

Then all that is left to do….set up the music and dance the night away.

 

 

51 Responses to “Creating a Dance Floor from Recycled Pallets”

  1. Janet Says:

    That was a great, functional idea!

  2. You’re right, that was easy…wanna send your brother my way! 😉 Thanks for linking up to the Upcycled Linky Party at http://love2upcycle.blogspot.com/2013/08/upcycled-linky-party-19.html#comment-form

  3. Love it. I’ve been wanting to make a pseudo deck similar to this for awhile now! 😀

  4. Thanks for sharing your info. I really appreciate
    your efforts and I am waiting for your further write ups thanks once again.

  5. August Siena Says:

    I like this website so much, saved to my bookmarks.

  6. Sara Says:

    This is great! Thanks! How big would you say the dance floor is? About how many guests did you have and how many people were dancing at once (approximately)? Also how much did you end up spending? I’ve been thinking of making my own dance floor for my wedding, but I’m not sure if I have the math right LOL!

    • I’m not sure how much they spent on the floor. I would guess they had around a hundred plus people at the wedding and different people danced on it at different times so it is hard to remember how many it would hold. Sorry that is not more helpful.

  7. Mikayla Says:

    Hello, always i used to check webpage posts
    here in the early hours in the morning, for the reason that
    i like to learn more and more.

  8. Eric Says:

    How thick was the plywood used? I’m planning on making one for my wedding

  9. Kristen Says:

    Were there any problems with this moving or separating with people on it?

  10. solana Says:

    Thank you! Do you know how much weight/people it supports?

  11. gcmakeup2014 Says:

    How much did it cost to create this? I am looking for an easy cheap project for a dance floor. Thanks:)

    • It was a few years ago so you would have to price out how much the wood costs now (also depends on how big you want it). I know that he got the pallets for free (which is awesome). Hopefully you can find the pallets free also. Good luck on your new dance floor.

  12. Hi there, this looks exactly what I need for my 50th birthday party in having in our very rustic barn. Did you paint this at all? My Dad is in his 70’s and is given pallets for free by a local company, he either cuts up for firewood for their log burner and ours, it heats the whole house or he makes things from them. Thank you xx

  13. Hi there, I’m thinking of doing a similar thing for my party. Did you paint the dance floor? Thanks

  14. Laura Says:

    What a awesome IDEA!!!

  15. Laura Says:

    Love this!!

  16. Isabel Rios Says:

    Hi! I want to know how were you able to separate it after the party and if you were able to put it back together again.
    Thanks!

  17. Ben Says:

    how do i balance the dance floor if the ground is bumpy

  18. Polypro Says:

    This is a great idea for recycling pallets! Thanks for sharing.

  19. Crystal Says:

    I’m curious to know if there was any safety hazard with the dance floor being 6 to 7 inches off the ground.

  20. Liz Says:

    It is important that you set the palets together or they will separate

  21. Lupita Says:

    How many pallets did you use for this project and what size was it?

  22. Savannah Says:

    Could you possibly tell me the dimensions of this dance floor and how many people were at the wedding dancing on it? Awesome post by the way!

  23. Rob Moore Says:

    I am going to reproduce this for my Niece’s wedding. the only thing I see could help the stability is to stagger the seams of the plywood opposite of the pallet seams. I will probably also add 2 x the depth of the pallets in between the pallets to add stability.
    Great idea!!


Leave a comment